The Cleansing by Sam Kates

The Cleansing by Sam Kates

Title: The Cleansing
Author: Sam Kates
Pages: 312
Buy: Book Depository
Source: First Reads
Rating: 4 Stars

*I received this book for free as part of the Goodreads First Reads giveaway in exchange for an honest review*

I really liked The Cleansing by Sam Kates. I don’t read much post-apocalyptic fiction and entered the giveaway because this book sounded interesting. A warning though, reviewing this book without giving anything away is difficult, so be warned.

I don’t think I’m spoiling anything in a book called the Cleansing by revealing that humanity is (virtually) wiped out (it is in the blurb!). Although I’ve read little apocalyptic literature, the method of wiping out humanity is even something I’ve heard of before as a common method in this type of book. That being said, the way it is done, and why it is done is different and mysterious. You really want to know why this is happening and for what purpose.

This is a novel that is interesting, mysterious, and well written. There is a clear sense of the feelings of the survivors being brought to the fore, and the horror of the actual plague and the effects it has on society are explored well and in detail. During this phase of the book you are introduced to many families and individuals, including children albeit briefly.

The motivations, thoughts, and characters of the perpetrators are revealed slowly and the premise is something I found original. At times, despite the post apocalyptic setting, I felt I wasn’t reading a science fiction novel but a story about surviving in the face of adversity combined with a mystery.

I enjoyed it immensely, even if I do have to wonder about the empathy of an author who can write so easily about wiping out children. (The author explores that very thought and subject here.

In the book, not only is the horror that the survivors are living through skilfully and artfully explored and described but what happens to the world and society at large is littered throughout the story, cars everywhere, power failing, hospitals unable to cope without it being overbearing, it is just something that each character encounters on their arcs.

One of my favourite bits in the book (SPOILER AHEAD) is the President’s speech to the world.

The real shame for me was that the book was over so soon, at 300 pages I easily could have read more, two or three times the length which may have turned it into a brick book, but I like brick books (a la Peter F. Hamilton.)

So, Mr Kates, please write number two and I’d be happy to read it and find out what happens.

SPOILERS BELOW

Some questions I’d like answers to in the next book(s):

– How would the ‘People’ have wiped out humanity pre-20th century?
– Did they have any involvement in the Black Death or Spanish Flu?
– How did they hide their advanced technology for thousands of years?
– If they live underground on their home planet but rejuvenate through the Sun, how does that work?
– I recall Peter stating humanity was more intelligent, yet the ‘People’ could cure cancer and develop the Millennium Bug…

Also, if like me the first page didn’t make sense when you first read it, read it again once you’ve finished this book and it is actually a great big clue slammed in your face that you just missed first time around!

Overall a great book, looking forward to the second in the series.

Posted on January 8, 2014, in First Reads, Science Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

bookskaterates

"Of reading many books there is no end…"

My Tiny Obsessions

dedicated to small everyday obsessions ... tv shows ... movies ... books ...

Novel Heights

Books, books and more books - what I've read & what I thought.

Curiosity Killed the Bookworm

To read on and off the rails

Raanan Bar-Cohen

all about the Partnerships

